Dream Chaser

tumblr_lb8t6j1ldz1qdwetoo1_400_large1

“You need to be realistic. Dreams will get you nowhere. Passion will not put food on the table.”

I call bullsh!t.

Dream. Limitlessly. Never stop dreaming because once you do, nothing will drive your actions.

I tend to shy away from writing about my own life for privacy’s sake but I’ll make an exception with the intention to motivate that one person who’s passion flame is dying out.

For as long as I can remember writing has been my escape. A place I go to express myself and to get lost in words. Even when I didn’t know what to say to my parents when they upset me I turned to my pen and paper. As a result of my passion for writing I decided in high school that Journalism was a fitting career for me.

Long story cut short, I’m black and Journalism is not commerce so my mother didn’t quite understand this career choice. I studied accounting and after 5long years I finally finished. At the beginning of my fifth year of a 3-year undergrad degree, I found myself in a place of misery. I was embarrassed and felt like a huge disappointment and failure. I was going to be attending classes with children two years my junior. It hurt.

I fell in love with the latin phrase “alta alatis patent” which translates to “The sky is open to those who have wings.” To many this phrase may mean nothing at all but to me it meant revival. I decided that like Icarus, I would create my own wings and fly towards the sky that awaited me.

Although I faced many challenges and failed in some ways 2012 was the year I realised that I am stronger than my situations. I re-applied for the journalism bursary I had lost due to failure the previous year and got it again. This is where God wants me to be and I believe it now more than ever.
Dreams without action will get you nowhere but hard-work coupled with patience will assist you along the journey. Nelson Mandela and Dr Martin Luther King Jr. had dreams. It took years for those dreams to be realised but eventually they achieved their goals.

Many will tell you that you can’t. Others will tell you that you won’t. It is up to you to fight to live the life you envisioned for yourself. Do not allow the minor setbacks to get you down forever. Pain will only strengthen your cause.

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”

Have faith in your dream. Always.

Signed
BeautifulPersianStar

3 thoughts on “Dream Chaser

  1. this is an amazing and very inspirational post Shandu! goes to show that with perseverence, you can succeed in anything and it’s never too late to realise and follow your dream. all the best to you and your career in journalism 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful…..

    Shandu, I’ve said this before but u probably won’t remember coz it was back in 2007 or so… You have an amazing gift with words.

    With that said; for some strange reason I finally clicked on this beautiful persians star link today… And after reading “dream chaser” I’m BEYOND convinced that everything truly does happen for a reason. I’m at a point where reading this post was, er, ok I won’t say life changing, but rather life altering (that’s more fitting).

    So… Thank You; even though you won’t understand the enormity of the impact this post has had, lol.

    Keep writing, you never know who’s reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

