Lone ranger adventure

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Towards the end of the east of the Johannesburg CBD there is a beautiful city development called the Maboneng Precinct. I’ve been twice or thrice and I liked it but there were a couple of things that I did not understand that I honestly didn’t like.

I went today to meet with a representative from Propertuity which is the development company behind the Maboneng Precinct.  I went there to learn a bit about the differences between the Chinese retail way of doing business when compared to other retail spaces. Senzo Mncadi who deals in sales was more than willing to help me and ended up showing me around the residential property that is currently for sale in the precinct.

I don’t want to go into the differences much as I do not know at this point what I will include in my final feature and I mean I must create suspense otherwise what’s the point right?

Senzo told me that the precinct currently has 12 finished buildings but they currently own 40 buildings in the area which they plan to have completed in the next five years.  This brings me to what I did not like about Maboneng initially.

I thought: “What on earth is the point of having this small are of beauty when the rest of the surrounding areas are pretty much run down?” Well I guess my question was answered today.

Maboneng is still a developing project and the main objective is to have a space where people can live, work and invest. Senzo said at the end of the day the aim is to become a lot like New York City where people actually prefer to live in the city rather than in suburbia.

Oh how I would LOVE that. I believe the city is gorgeous and as we walked around today I noticed more and more just how stunning our city is. (Oh my gosh I just referred to Johannesburg as my city. Pretorians please do not kill me. I still love you.)

After walking around the residential property I grabbed some lunch on my lonesome then went on the free public art tour in the area. Now understand that I hate being alone. Not all the time but most of the time. I’m one of those people who would never dine alone or go to the movies alone, it just freaks me out.

I realised at the beginning of this project however that I would have to learn how to get out of my comfort zone and learn how to immerse myself in something alone and learn some valuable lessons. The street art tour was amazing and I will be posting some of the pictures later there are just so many.

Leave a Reply

